Mevagissey nestles in a small valley with narrow streets that lead down to the centre of the old Town. The distinctive twin harbours of Mevagissey provide a safe haven for the many fishing boats. In typical picture postcard style cafes, galleries and shops cluster around the harbour walls and line the pretty streets.
At the end of June each year, Mevagissey celebrates Feast Week with local entertainments and dancing in the streets. Mevagissey is also a convenient centre for those wanting to visit such local attractions as the Lost Gardens of Heligan.
Mevagissey was once the centre of Cornwall’s pilchard fishery and which still boasts a working harbour. It has a tradition of boat building dating back to 1745. Many of the old buildings, constructed of cob and slate, bear testimony to a time when the large shoals of pilchards were the livelihood of the whole village.
The name Mevagissey is derived from the names of two saints, St Meva and St Issey. The first record is of a hamlet of this name in 1313, but there were local settlements in the Bronze Age. Two Bronze Age Burial Urns were discovered at nearby Portmellon.
No products found in this collection.